top of page
  • Writer's picturerusticquillwriters

Have You Chosen the Way of Truth?


Jeremiah 6:16-20 KJV

“Thus saith the Lord, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein. [17] Also I set watchmen over you, saying, Hearken to the sound of the trumpet. But they said, We will not hearken. [18] Therefore hear, ye nations, and know, O congregation, what is among them. [19] Hear, O earth: behold, I will bring evil upon this people, even the fruit of their thoughts, because they have not hearkened unto my words, nor to my law, but rejected it. [20] To what purpose cometh there to me incense t from Sheba, and the sweet cane from a far country? your burnt offerings are not acceptable, nor your sacrifices sweet unto me.”


Let us examine a group of people vs a psalmist.

The children of Benjamin-

We see in this passage that the prophet is gathering together the children of Benjamin. Proclaiming unto them, to flee out of the midst of Jerusalem, and to set up a sign for evil and destruction which appeareth out of the north.

He begins to explicate the reason of coming judgement. vs 16 tells us... "Thus saith the Lord, Stand ye in the ways, and see, and ask for the old paths, where is the good way, and walk therein, and ye shall find rest for your souls. But they said, We will not walk therein."


You may wonder, how could one be so cold toward the will of God for their life?

[10] "To whom shall I speak, and give warning, that they may hear? behold, their ear is uncircumcised, and they cannot hearken: behold, the word of the Lord is unto them a reproach; they have no delight in it."


How they got to the point of coldness toward the LORD was because the WORD Of GOD had become a reproach unto them!

They didn't want to be close to the LORD. They didn't want to be committed unto the LORD. They didn't want to be committed to the cause of Christ, therefore they had no delight in His Word. They said "We will not walk therein."


The Psalmist-

Psalm 119:30-37 KJV

“I have chosen the way of truth: thy judgments have I laid before me. [31] I have stuck unto thy testimonies: O Lord, put me not to shame. [32] I will run the way of thy commandments, when thou shalt enlarge my heart. [33] Teach me, O Lord, the way of thy statutes; and I shall keep it unto the end. [34] Give me understanding, and I shall keep thy law; yea, I shall observe it with my whole heart. [35] Make me to go in the path of thy commandments; for therein do I delight. [36] Incline my heart unto thy testimonies, and not to covetousness. [37] Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity; and quicken thou me in thy way.”


The psalmist had purposed! "I have chosen the way of truth."

The psalmist was faithful! "I have stuck unto thy testimonies."

The psalmist had determination! "I will run the way of thy commandments." He wasn't just purposed to walk in the ways of the LORD, but rather he said he would run!

The psalmist had a sincere desire! "Teach me, O Lord, the way of thy statutes." He did not have this desire for prideful reasons, but to have understanding, “Give me understanding".

The psalmist had a realization where his strength came from. "Make me to go in the path of thy commandments". "Incline my heart unto thy testimonies, and not to covetousness”.

The psalmist had a request of drawing! He had a desire to be closer to God. "Incline my heart unto thy testimonies, and not to covetousness. Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity; and quicken thou me in thy way."


Where are you today? Where's your desire and focus? Have you chosen the way of Truth?


Have a wonderful Friday!

May God bless y'all!

- Joshua Danford

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page